Dermatocranial division

The dermatocranium is that portion of the skull which develops from dermal bone. The dermatocranial regions include the dermal bones of the cranial roof, the dermal bones of the primary palate, the dermal bones of the upper jaw, and the dermal bones of the lower jaw. In the human skull the dermal bone regions include the following:

Cranial roof group: nasal, frontal, parietal, occipital (part), temporal (part), zygomatic, lacrimal


Primary palate group: vomer, palatine, pterygoid part of sphenoid


Upper jaw group: maxilla

Lower jaw group: mandible