Cranial skeleton

Divisions of the Skull

The human skull develops from three separate sets of bone forming tissues. These embryonic tissue groups include the neurocranium group, the splanchnocranium group, and the dermatocranium group.


In development, both the neurocranium and splanchnocranium begin as regions of hyaline cartilage. Later in development, these cartilages are converted to bones of the skull through a process known as endochondral bone formation.

The dermatocranium portion of the skull begins as fibrous membranes that are later converted to bone in a process of membrane bone formation.